The Sword – Used Future (Album Review)

The Sword – Used Future
March 23rd 2018


John D. Cronise // vocals & guitar
Kyle Shutt // guitar
Bryan Richie // bass & synthesizers
Santiago “Jimmy” Vela III // drums & percussion



Opening with a ‘Prelude’ into ‘Deadly Nightshade’, there is an immediate sense of Americana hanging over Used Future. The album blends The Sword‘s hard rock heavy riffs with some seriously crunchy grooves, making for an enjoyable listening experience.


The Wild Sky’ stands out amongst the record; there are no vocals to be heard here. Followed by ‘Intermezzo’, which as expected by the name of the track, acts as an intermission of sorts, before ‘Sea of Green’ kicks in, which ultimately sounds like something Black Sabbath may have whipped up as a b-side in the 70s, which isn’t a bad thing.

The rest of Used Future plays out as expected, but for every moment of fuzzy rock goodness, there are some surprises too. The Sword are renowned for making some seriously loud noise with their music, which is why it’s a delight that Used Future is balanced out by reflective instrumental moments. This works well in the bands’ favour, allowing them to deliver an album which stands out as a frontrunner for one of 2018’s best so far.

the sword used future

The Sword – Used Future tracklisting

1. Prelude
2. Deadly Nightshade
3. Twilight Sunrise
4. The Wild Sky
5. Intermezzo
6. Sea of Green
7. Nocturne
8. Don’t Get Too Comfortable
9. Used Future
10. Come and Gone
11. Book of Thoth
12. Brown Mountain
13. Reprise

Rating: 7/10
Used Future is out Friday March 23rd via Spinefarm/Caroline Australia. Pre-Order here
Review by Luke Sutton

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. The Sword announce Australian Tour – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.