Iron Maiden releasing “The Book of Souls” as a Double Album.

Heavy Metal pioneers Iron Maiden are set to release their new studio album “The Book of Souls” as a double album on September 4th this year. What’s better than a double dose of Maiden? The answer is always Nothing! The album was set for release at an earlier date, however the band wanted to make sure front man Bruce Dickinson had plenty of time to recover from his recent successful battle with cancer. He’s been given the all-clear and will be able to join the band in celebrations for the album’s launch later this year.

For those wondering about the band’s touring regime following the release of “The Book of Souls”, unfortunately they won’t be hitting the road until 2016. They want to make sure that Bruce is at his absolute best and back to his typical levels of fitness before performing.

The album will be Iron Maiden’s first double album ever released and features the longest song ever recorded by Maiden, which is one of two songs written solely by Bruce Dickinson, which die-hard fans would know is the first time he’s done that since 1984’s killer album “Powerslave“. However the focus isn’t 100% on Bruce, Bassist and founding member Steve Harris‘ song writing abilities contributed to 7 of the tracks.

We approached this album in a different way to how we’ve recorded previously.  A lot of the songs were actually written while we were there in the studio and we rehearsed and recorded them straight away while they were still fresh, and I think that immediacy really shows in the songs, they have almost a live feel to them, I think. I’m very proud of The Book Of Souls, we all are, and we can’t wait for our fans to hear it, and especially to take it out on the road next year!” – Steve Harris


Disc 1
1. If Eternity Should Fail (Dickinson) 8:28
2. Speed Of Light (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:01
3. The Great Unknown (Smith/ Harris) 6:37
4. The Red And The Black (Harris) 13:33
5. When The River Runs Deep (Smith/ Harris) 5:52
6. The Book Of Souls (Gers/ Harris) 10:27

Disc 2
7. Death Or Glory (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:13
8. Shadows Of The Valley (Gers/ Harris) 7:32
9. Tears Of A Clown (Smith/ Harris) 4:59
10. The Man Of Sorrows (Murray/ Harris) 6:28
11. Empire Of The Clouds (Dickinson) 18:01

The Book of Souls will be Iron Maiden’s 16th studio album since first debuting into the scene back in 1980 and so far the guys have had a hugely successful career, which has seen them achieve sales of over 90 million albums across the globe. You can expect even more numbers following the release of their new album in September.

Until next time, rock the fuck out

Browny (@brownypaul)

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3695 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!